World of Tanks

World of Tanks MMO Fan Discussions

5:03 am, October 24, 2014
218

The Grind - T37 Light review

0

This is my new way of reviewing tanks, including the grind from stock (albeit I only play a few games while stock) to help people that do not like to use free experience. Beware, as this is my first review in a long time, I may forget things. Feel free to leave feedback so I can make changes and ensure future reviews cover all the bases. *I apologize for the lack of replays, I accidentally purged my folder without thinking.*

 

The Grind: T37 Light tank review

 

Image courtesy of Major_Diarrhea

 

 

Initial thoughts 

 

Okay, they uptiered the Chaffee and made it slower...

 

Credentials

 

 

Yeah, I know... 29 battles. That's all it took me to grind through it. Sorry.

 

A look at the guns

 

 

The T37 is definitely not a slouch in the firepower department. The stock gun may not be much, but it is at least a usable gun, unlike some tanks (looking at you M5). Further on, you unlock a gun that is better than the Shermans get at the same tier, which allows you to pick on tier sevens quite easily. This gun also has an autoloader variant for those who like to flank. Lastly, the T37 comes armed with quite the deadly gun, albeit, fires slower than most 76mm guns. Seems good so far.

 

A look at the turrets

 

 

So the armour stays relatively the same (the upgraded turret is sloped slightly better). The view range increases slightly, but hey, it is a scout. View range is golden. The downside? The upgraded is quite heavy, 1.457t heavier. Can't say the weight increase is wanted, but it does allow mounting of the better guns. 

 

A look at the engines

 

 

Well, 450hp for a light tank isn't bad, and isn't great. It's meh at best. As is 500hp. It gets her around just fine however. 

 

A look at the tracks

 

 

The stock tracks must go. They hinder your mobility and you cannot use the upgraded turret with them. 

 

I will not be looking at the radios as there's not much to say about them. Just get the best one. Never use the crappy one.

 

Suggested upgrade path

 

Tracks -> Engine -> Gun -> Radio -> Radio -> Turret -> Gun that suits your playstyle -> (OPTIONAL) Other gun -> M41 Bulldog.

 

As for the last bit, get the autoloader if you like to flank and get as much damage as possible in a short time. Get the non-autoloader if you like better accuracy and you like to spam less gold.

 

My stock grinding review

 

Jumping into the tank the first time, I found it to be slower than I'd like. That was easily countered by passive scouting. After a few good games of scouting, I'm sure I could at least unlock the tracks which help mobility quite a bit. This allows the T37 to become more effective and not stuck to the passive role. It's still slower than I'd like. I'd stick to passive scouting until you get the engine. Once I unlocked the upgraded engine and had the tracks, the T37 simply flies. It can be a passive and active scout, although, due to the lack of firepower, avoid being a "battlescout."

 

Upon unlocking the second gun, the T37 becomes more useful as it allows you to engage enemies a lot easier. With 137 penetration and 185 penetration with gold, it can pick on whatever it wants now. Just be smart about it obviously. It fires quite slowly though, don't get too cocky. I then tried the tank with the turret and the autoloader. It's noticeably slower with this setup, but it can hit hard and scoot into cover for the next 20s. 

 

Switching it up, I found the setup I ended up like, and that's fully upgraded with the 76mm T91. This allows me to be passive, active, and beat the **** out of enemies when needed. It also lights tanks on fire quite often. Don't know if I'm lucky, or the tank just does it.

 

The playstyles

 

Passive scout

 

A passive scout is a scout that finds common areas and finds a nice camouflaged area to use. From which, the scout can easily stay concealed until tanks are relatively close, and by then, usually dead. The trick to passive scouting is not to shoot. Shooting will blow your cover, and ultimately, blow you up. This role is best on maps like Prokhorovka where scouts are relied on to spot tanks long enough to allow their team to **** enough tanks to win. It really doesn't involve much trying, find a nice bush, camo up, spot any enemy that decides moving up is a good idea. 

 

The T37 can use this role quite well as it has good view range, good mobility, and great camo. 

 

 

Active scout

 

An active scout is a scout that runs around the map while dipping into cover and/or maneuvering to avoid enemy fire. Using this technique is usually the only way to spot those pesky tank destroyers hiding from  passive scouts. Upon lighting tanks, try to see if you're spotted (Sixth Sense is highly needed for this). A spotted scout is usually priority number one for the enemies. If you are, get back into cover/out of the area. If you're not rinse and repeat when you did to light tanks without being spotted. This does not mean YOLO for arty. That is a bad scout and a dead scout. 

 

 

Battlescout (A well played scout)

 

A battlescout is a scout that combines passive and active roles, however incorporates the role of being a support tank. When needed, flank or distract the enemies to help your team gain the advantage. Autoloaders and high penetration guns are the best for this role as damaging the tanks is the key to success for a battlescout. Most of the T37 guns will penetrate the sides of tanks, so getting to the rear of the enemies isn't needed all the time. Circling is also quite useful as the tank is quick and penetrates well. Don't bite off more than you can chew. Attack when the enemies do not have a shot, or when you can effectively trade a shot to take a dangerous tank out of the game (One hit E75 for 500 of your HP).

 

The T37 is perfectly equipped for this role. Good penetration, good speed, good view range, good damage output.

 

An example of such: Here

 

 

Suggested equipment

Note: The T37 cannot mount the gun rammer.

 

  • Passive

Binocs, Camo net, Optics.

 

Why? You're abusing camo, and in case you need to run, optics help.

 

  • Active

Optics, V-Stab, Toolbox

 

Why? Optics work on the move, V-Stab helps your accuracy, and toolbox helps you repair your tracks if you get tracked.

 

  • Battlescout

Optics, Camo net, V-Stab

 

Why? It's the perfect combo between active and passive. 

 

Suggested crew skills

 

Commander - Sixth Sense, Camo, Repair, Recon, Whatever you want from here out

Gunner - Camo, Repair, Smooth ride, Dead Eye, Whatever you want from here out

Driver - Camo, Repair, Off road driving, Clutch Braking, Whatever you want from here out

Loader - Safe Stowage, Camo, Repair, Whatever you want from here out

 

The verdict

 

 

The T37 not bad. It's actually quite good. Nothing awe inspiring. It does everything a scout needs to do and then some. If you liked the old Chaffee, you'll like the T37.

 

8/10

References



Comments

Comments will display as plain text only ×

Report Spam or Abuse

Are you sure you want to report this submission for spam or abuse?

Clicking yes will report this post to the site administrator for review.

Yes No ×

Search Tags

Grind Light review

Others in World of Tanks Comments

Seeking a clan (or not) for Platoon-mates and Game Improvement

4:03 pm, October 24, 2014 See my signature...I play a lot of solo pub, Tiers V-IX, and in great need of improvement. Looking for platooners and team battlers to improve game. PM me in game, if looking for same. I play mostly T [..] View

Team Damage Auto-Ban System Bug?

4:03 pm, October 24, 2014 So I'm taking a stroll in my Bulldog last night when suddenly I find myself rammed, and tracked by a friendly T-34. We exchanged some pleasantries in chat. I questioned the honor of his mother and com [..] View

Top 20 Clans by Gold Revenue over Past 2 Months

4:03 pm, October 24, 2014 Top 20 Clans by Gold Revenue, with Data Collected Daily with WG API's     A few observations: wars are expensive. they hurt gold income corollary: current clan wars mechanics disco [..] View

Last Man Standing - Medal of Honour Award

4:03 pm, October 24, 2014 Hi everyone, I thought a new courage's medal should be added to the game, utilising some rules behind this, it could be implemented.   This medal would be in honor of Walter D. Ehle [..] View

Arty Lines

4:03 pm, October 24, 2014 So, a long while ago i once played Arty but i was discouraged in playing it after an ally got in the way of my shell and had -1 next to me so i stopped playing it  after the game finished but [..] View

The Grind - T37 Light review

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 This is my new way of reviewing tanks, including the grind from stock (albeit I only play a few games while stock) to help people that do not like to use free experience. Beware, as this is m [..] View

Premium vs Premium

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 I would love to have fair play game. If I play premium, I would love to play vs people who are playing the same premium account and invest money in game. As a consumer and customer I think that playin [..] View

Fury "Illuminati"

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 Im very worried, because i noticed, on the back of the new M4A3E8 Fury Tank, bottom right flap, their are these words written "2 (Triangle (Triangle) 2 (Triangle) 666 (Triangle)" And Clearly [..] View

Sand River Encounter Imbalance

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 West spawn has the decided advantage north of the river. The dunes are pushed too far towards east spawn and allow for free fire into the pass connecting north/south near G8. This firing location, fro [..] View

Enough with the Warnings... Your pissing me off

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 I appreciate that WOT is trying to better the game play but a blanket warning system when a person leave is bull. I don't pay and and play a game where someone "Warns me". Im a fifty year ol [..] View

The 1996 Chicago Bulls present... The n.W.o

5:03 am, October 24, 2014     My fellow Hulkamaniacs, due to boredom as well as the Halloween spirit, the 1996 Chicago Bulls have been taken over by the nWo and it's members.   The nWo may or may n [..] View

Unable to Request Mrk VIc Back

5:03 am, October 24, 2014 So, about a year ago, I, like most people, sold my Mrk VIc Light Tank for the garage space. Now, having sunk more dollars into the game, I have started to become a collector of sorts, trying to get a [..] View

WoT FTR share a new stats site that gave suggesting for which tanks you should play

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 FTR gave a site that come with a neat little feature for those who curious on which tanks they should play :D   I guess this might be useful for those who care about farming WN8 or just check [..] View

IS-4, the Russian anvil

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 Many people overlook this tank simply because the stats on it are not really that impressive. I mean, we are talking about a tank with slow top speed, slow acceleration, a little clumsy on the turns, [..] View

how to play well.

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 1. understand the roll of your tank and its strongpoints and weaknesses. a t-34 should not be up on a hill sniping , and a toaster should not be up at the front of a charge. don't ******* if your a sc [..] View

OP Arty's need be changed and back on old FV215b (183).

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 The artillery has drastically changed, tier 10 can not be more than 500 hit points, the reason why I think it's fair to change it because arty remains hidden 90% of match time. It's stupid that a spg [..] View

9.4 Common Test 2 Issues and Reports

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 Greetings Tankers!   The 9.4 Common Test will be brought back online soon, and we would greatly appreciate your assistance in identifying any issues or problems you encounter. Screenshots, re [..] View

Heads Up Display Dissapears

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 I have had a couple of games where I am typing a chat message and somehow hit the wrong key and everything dissapears. No mini-map,no aiming reticle, just my tank and the map. When an red tank shows u [..] View

Why does the T71 has such "****" View Range?

4:03 pm, October 23, 2014 I mean, it's supposed to be a scout and all, and it's put into Tier 10 games, yet it's view range is worse than just about anyone else it faces, thus it's easily seen, hence it can't scout like it sho [..] View

LF Clan. 2000+ Recent

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 Hi Recruiters,   The Correct answer for the poll is Putin, just a fyi  Currently looking for a clan that participates in skirmishes, Cw's and other events.  [..] View

New tank - M8 Greyhound (Light Armored Car M8) 6x6 Armored Scout Car

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 Now yes this "tank" is more of an armored truck but it does have some form of armor a 37mm and speed.  This does look like a cool prem tank or maybe a giveaway tier 2-3 (most likely [..] View

An easier grind?

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 Which is an easier grind?  Stug 3 up to the Ferdinand, or the VK3001P up to the Ferdinand via the Tiger P?  I have both the Stug and VK3001 unlocked with a decent amount of xp in eac [..] View

As long as you want to learn, you will

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 Hello guys. I share this post because I'm happy and because I became better, I learned something and I want to share this experience with other tankers.   First of all - I started 2 [..] View

My thoughts on golden ammunition.

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 I understand that there are many different posts about people flaming and raging about the gold ammunition and i have also had my own share of rage. "Why are you wasting ******* gold rounds on a [..] View

Game Freezes After Battle

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 After the battle ends my game freezes right as I click on to exit the battle.  I have to go into task manager and end process and then restart the game.  I have no mods installed. &a [..] View

E75

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 can a tank be more rng biased?   with my T110E4, t30, rhm with the big gun firing gold. I have bounced his lower plate shooting shells with over 300mm of pen (average) and I always bounce th [..] View

Loading times and FPS

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 Ever since 9.3 any mod I install makes my game take an immensely long time to load, even simple stuff like a minimap mod to show the render distance. It also reduces my FPS to pretty sad levels (20-30 [..] View

Maximum Experience

5:03 am, October 23, 2014 What is the most "maximum experience" earned in WoT?  Did I fail at google-fu? Or noobmeter.com?  Very possible.   And was it a regular pub battle, or some odd eve [..] View

Slow but steady progress

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 Around a year ago, I started a thread about how I had started out this game just lol'ing around, and had terrible stats to show for it.  I had decided to learn to play, and had worked my way [..] View

Stud 75/L70 can't pen anything

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 I "upgraded" from my 38T because I was tired of my 75 bouncing all the time. In the case of a TD, every shot needs to count because you'll likely have to move, and if 1/2 your shots bounce a [..] View

Cruiser 3 - which turret?

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 'upgrade' turret appears worse unless there's a couple of hiden stats that are better. I don't rate the aim time bonus as vastly useful. Then I haven't played it a lot yet.   I do see a lot o [..] View

Historical "Iconic" Premiums tanks series suggestion

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 The consensus re prem tanks seems to be -  don't bundle,  and sell more tanks at  ~$3 to ~$18 price points.   Personally I think WoT is sitting on [..] View

Why Yinz Cost So Much To Run!

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 The T57 and T29 are two tanks that I don’t understand why they are so expensive to run.  I got the itch to run my T57 last night so I played approximately 15 games in it. I ran stan [..] View

Skin Request: M41 Bulldog Fender/Skirt

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 See the following link. I'd love my bulldog even more with these skirts. Too bad it's not in HD nor it's released.   http://ftr.wot-news.com/2014/06/29/straight-outta-supertest-m41-walker-bul [..] View

KV-3

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 Hello all   I was wondering what does it take to make silver in this tank? Cause I am trying to to make silver to grind the silver need to buy T29, T25/2, and a few others. Heck I was rarely [..] View

Being Called a Reroll...

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 Morning Tankers,   I am just curious and asking the community, why do people keep calling me a reroll? What about me says "oh this guy must be a reroll?"   It doesn't phase [..] View

Things I am learning as I drive a Fury :)

4:03 pm, October 22, 2014 1) We  are not a heavy tank - leading charges is not for us 2)  We do not really have armor - so do not play pe ca bo games 3) We do not have the speed of the Easy 8 4) We are often [..] View

The Void New Account codes.

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 I just bought the movie "The Void" and it came with 2 new account codes.   3 day premium and 1250 Gold.   Anyone looking to invite a new friend feel free to use these two c [..] View

Gold to credits worth it?

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 Alright, so I'm grinding my T-54 to the Obj. 140 because I need it for clan wars. Problem is I don't have 6 million creds. I just got 2 Prepaid cards so there's 10,760 gold in my garage. Should I use [..] View

Tactical Magic [TACMG] Recruiting

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 I don't want to go and make this all fancy, with brilliant colors, and flashy pics, etc... This is combat folks, and COMBAT is not pretty, nor is it Glamorous like those ignorant pukes in Hollywood ma [..] View

Crash on startup

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 I just re-installed windows 8.1 and now WoT crashes on startup.  Same computer with same version of windows, had no issues before.  I have already tried re-installing windows and re- [..] View

Looking for a decent Tier 6 premium.

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 So I am looking for a decent Tier VI premium tank. I have a few in mind, but I only have enough for 1 of them. Here is a list on my play style and opinion.   -I snipe a lot, but can go into m [..] View

SO I bought this book awhile back... Really cool

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 BTW this is not meant to be an ad but I didn't see a link for it anywhere else. But it is a nice little bathroom read. :)     http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0760342946/ref=oh_aui_s [..] View

"Votekick" option

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 If a teammate does team damage and/or team kills and is marked blue, he is eligible to be votekicked (spending one report token). If the vote passes (50% of all players still alive/spectating to pass) [..] View

Punish People Bumping Into You

5:03 am, October 22, 2014 Two days in a row I have had to shoot someone for bumping into me while I was focusing fire and covering team members.  I would normally tell them off in chat but I'm perma'ed in chat. So I n [..] View

Clan WINCHESTER -WIN- Esta recrutando brasileiros BR

4:03 pm, October 21, 2014  O QUE É O WINCHESTER ?           Clã ativo e focado em CW's e Torneios. Participamos em Clã Wars e Camp [..] View

The battle counter can be fixed a bit....

4:03 pm, October 21, 2014 The battle counter can be fixed a bit. Well the 25 second wait is a drag ... but WG can make it so the battle starts as soon as all the players are connected and not wait full 25 seconds.   I [..] View

[SOLVED] Mission "Total Destruction" Completion Bug

4:03 pm, October 21, 2014 Well, i completed today the mission "Total Destruction" that gives you 2 garage slots, and 10.000 crew exp, in my KV-85, but instead of the mission granting me that, it just reseted and give [..] View

and now, for a different kind of streak

4:03 pm, October 21, 2014 MM is rigged!   http://www.noobmeter.com/recent/na/callandorsfire/1002281207/1002281207_00018741_20141020_005637/1002281207_00018755_20141021_025156;jsessionid=38D91450261A1426137C11D2B51302D [..] View

NARWL is selectively recruiting

4:03 pm, October 21, 2014   Upvote is an independent clan active in clan wars. We are RDDT's sister clan.   Upvote is looking for recruits for Clan Wars and the upcoming Campaign!   & [..] View

Sign In

×

Sign Up

×
Page generated in 1.1393 seconds.
Site Engine